During File Synchronization, File Replication, File Mirroring or File Backup, older files are overwritten by newer files or they are deleted if their counterpart has also been deleted.
ViceVersa PRO enables archival of former versions of files which are changed or deleted. This is called the File Archiving feature.
By using File Archiving, when a file is overwritten or removed during a run, the old file is first moved to an archive location, locally or over the network. Files moved to the archive location maintain the original timestamp. The timestamp of when they were moved is also encoded in the file name. Hence, multiple versions of files can be kept for a specified period of time. Extensive options in ViceVersa lets you to control how many versions of each file to keep, where and for how long: you can specify to keep old versions for X days, or up to X copies, or only for certain file names or extensions.
ViceVersa PRO also features an archive viewer tool that lets you browse the archive locations and visualize all the archived file versions.