FAQ and Knowledge Base

Main Page > Browse Categories > Did You Know? > You Can Automatically Synchronize Conflicts

You Can Automatically Synchronize Conflicts

When you synchronize two locations and a file has changed on both sides since the last synchronization, that file will be identified as a conflict by ViceVersa. Since the same file has changed on both sides, ViceVersa does not know which version to keep and which one to overwrite.

Starting with ViceVersa PRO version 3 you can instruct ViceVersa to synchronize the conflict files by keeping the newer file and overwriting the older file and, at the same time, renaming the older file into filename_[timestamp]_CONFLICT.ext
In this way, all files are synchronized including conflicts, but old conflict files will be renamed with a timestamp and still be kept in the same folder for potential review by the user.

The option to activate renaming of conflicts is in profiles settings -> advanced settings and it is called: Synchronize files even if in conflict (synchronization method)



User Comments
Add Comment
There are no user comments for this topic.
Add Comment
Attachments
No attachments

Did this help you?
Yes No

Statistics
45% found this information useful

Other Options
Printable Version

General Information
No. 124
Author: TGRMN Software

Download ViceVersa File Synchronization Software Free Trial


Visit ViceVersa Forum
  
  
 A printable version of the entire ViceVersa FAQ and Knowledge Base is also available.

 For further queries, please contact us by E-Mail at support@tgrmn.com.