Forum Index  ViceVersa HOME         FAQ and Knowledge Base

FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch Forum  RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Profiles are Not All That They Can Be...

DVHost

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:02 pm    Post subject: Profiles are Not All That They Can Be... Reply with quote

Its not that I don’t understand the VVPro’s Profiles, I just do not feel that they are entirely efficient to accomplish desired tasks.

I’ve been using SureSync for quite a few years and I have been looking into VVPro as a replacement. VVPro is very functional, cost effective and I am extremely impressed with the comparison of files and folders which I find very intuitive. It’s extremely easy to understand what is going to take place during a sync. SureSync to me is a bit more confusing and makes it difficult to understand what is actually going to happen using its Preview function and as a result, bad things have happened to me and my files.

Using SureSync you can create “Relations” and “Schedules”. Relations are very similar to VVPro’s Source/Target pairs in virtually every aspect. “Schedules” while they can be performed using dates/times can also be used to manually trigger the running of all or some of the Relations depending on how you configure a Schedule. When you create a Schedule you can specify dates/times and set automation. During the creation of a Schedule you specify which Relations you want to include.

I have a total of twelve Relations and one Schedule. Normally I will simply launch SureSync at the end of the day and run the Schedule manually which consists of all twelve of my relations. The schedule runs until it completes processing of all Relations. Bam! The day is done.