Forum Index  ViceVersa HOME         FAQ and Knowledge Base

FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch Forum  RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

W10 - 'Enabling Win32 Long Paths' - Any issues?

Old Fogey

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 1:19 pm    Post subject: W10 - 'Enabling Win32 Long Paths' - Any issues? Reply with quote

Hi,

I would particularly appreciate a reply from TGRMN. Thanks.

I am a very happy user using VVPro3-64 for my backups and other things - but I want to avoid making a mistake if I elect to enable a Windows 10 setting : Enable Win32 Long Paths.
My major reason for asking here is that I value VVPro and need to be aware of any potential issues. I am concerned in case I cause incompatibilities to either new backups or old restores, or even corruption and worse.

I am getting on in age, and I'm no expert, so if I proceeded to enable Enable Win32 Long Paths. I also want to take any advice that TGRMN might want to give, as this may have been tried already, or issues caused that I have not thought of - e.g. incompatibilities, slower performance, security. Even issues that don't affect VVPro-64!

INFORMATION
I am using Windows 10 Pro 21H1 as at May 2021.
I have two drives in my PC. C: is an SSD and D: is an HDD where I hold my main work files.
I also backup onto other USB external HDD drives, everything formatted as NTFS.

MAIN ISSUE

Although nearly all D: files have a path lengths under 251 characters, I do not want to change the names and I wish to continue nesting a large number of large files even deeper, with the effect of exceeding the limit. I estimate my future max. path lengths will then be around 400-500
Since I am using the W10 Pro version (not W10 Home), I intend to enable the Enable Win32 Long Paths. setting in the Group Policy.

SUMMARY

I want to ensure that this does not cause any issues with existing backups, or with making newer backups on D drive or onto the external drives.