Forum Index  ViceVersa HOME         FAQ and Knowledge Base

 FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch Forum  RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Command line option for conflict cases

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Wish List
Author Message
Adequat



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:23 pm    Post subject: Command line option for conflict cases Reply with quote

I wish a command line option, or whatever profile option, that would not run the profile, after comparison, if there is a conflict (comparison window would open then). If there is no conflict, then the sync should happen silently.

If there is already such an option, please tell me.

Thanks
Back to top
TGRMN Software
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 8467

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

it's not possible now ... is this to allow users to sync conflicts in case there are any? How are you running VV now, via VVScheduler , shortcut?

thanks
_________________
--
TGRMN Software Support
http://www.tgrmn.com
http://www.compareandmerge.com
Back to top
Adequat



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use VV for different purposes. Here, this is for quick sync between Windows and Mac:
I edit files on Windows and (less) on Mac. I pass from one machine to another every 5 minutes (common scenario), and I run a VV profile from a hot key. This works very fine. but sometimes there is a conflict (file edited on both sides and I forgot to sync).
Unless I have run in non-automated mode, this conflict won't be brought to my attention.

In other words, if everything is "normal", I don't want any report and everything should run from a single hot key. If there is a conflict, I need to be alarmed.
Back to top
TGRMN Software
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 8467

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

I think you could get notified with a custom script.
Which command line flags are you using? /autoexec or /hiddenautoexec ?

thanks
_________________
--
TGRMN Software Support
http://www.tgrmn.com
http://www.compareandmerge.com
Back to top
Adequat



Joined: 05 Jul 2006
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do:

ViceVersa.exe myprofile.fsf" /wait /autoexec /autoclose

How a custom script could help?
Back to top
TGRMN Software
Site Admin


Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 8467

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The exit code if there are conflicts is 5.
You could setup a VBS script to run at the end of execution (profile settings -> advanced settings), the script shows an error message if the exit code is 5 (or different from 0 if you want to catch all errors).
_________________
--
TGRMN Software Support
http://www.tgrmn.com
http://www.compareandmerge.com
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Wish List All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Copyright © TGRMN Software. TGRMN Software products: