Forum Index  ViceVersa HOME         FAQ and Knowledge Base

FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch Forum  RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Use with WD My Passport Wireless pro

Landyman

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:14 pm    Post subject: Use with WD My Passport Wireless pro Reply with quote

I have been using VV (Build 2518 64-bit) for a few years, keeping many external drives (USB) for backup and archive.

I've just purchased a WD 3TB My Passport Wireless pro. When connected by USB, It appears as all my other external drives. i.e. W:\AC\Test to sync that folder.

For easy entry of the folder name, I normally (in Windows 7) display that folder and copy it's name from the top of the Windows Explorer display.

Doing the same with the new drive connected via Wi-Fi I get:-

<\\MyPassport\Storage> and not:-

<W:\> which I get with a USB connection.

How do I select the folders to sync using the Wi-Fi connection?
Landyman

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Use with WD My Passport Wireless pro Reply with quote

Landyman wrote:
How do I select the folders to sync using the Wi-Fi connection?

I've now discovered that the 'Map network drive....', accessed via right-click on the desktop 'Computer' icon does now work.

Now to test it with VV.
TGRMN Software
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, you should also be able to use the UNC path \\MyPassport\Storage directly in ViceVersa and then select subfolders as needed. thanks
http://www.compareandmerge.com
nada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:35 am    Post subject: MPWP as a Plex server sucks Reply with quote

My experience with the MPWP has been frustrating from day one.

First - don't follow the instructions that WD provides. Load media before installing Plex, then let the MPWP fully scan all files.
Second - don't expect WD support to be helpful.