Forum Index  ViceVersa HOME         FAQ and Knowledge Base

FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch Forum  RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log inLog in 

Non detection of renamed files and moved folders

davblo

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 6:47 pm    Post subject: Non detection of renamed files and moved folders Reply with quote

Hi,

I have been using Vice Versa Plus for many years and have found it extremely useful for maintaining synchronised backups. For safety and efficiency I have always used it in "manual" mode, checking what it suggests copying/deleting and adjusting where necessary.
One of the biggest limitations has been the lack of detection of renamed files and moved folders. This can lead to very inefficient updating - hence the manual intervention.

More recently I have been using cloud storage (mainly SugerSync) and become used to efficient real time synchronisation with the cloud, with full detection of renamed files and moved folders - essential for efficient use of bandwidth.

So I decided to make some test with Vice Versa Pro / VV Engine, which according to all information I could find would provide real time detection of changes to files and folders with a database supporting efficient synchronisation.

Unfortunately after carrying out some simple tests I find that the programs are both incapable of detecting renamed files and moved folder, simply deleting the old ones on the target and re-copying the new ones from the source. So if I rename a folder containing 2 GB of data i get 2 GB deleted on the target and 2 GB copied over from the source to the target - all completely needlessly.

This is intolerable for synchronisation over the internet and plain bad for synchronisation on a local network.

Are there any plans to implement rename and move detection, or have I "missed a trick", or must I just uninstall the programs and look for a better solution?

Regards; davblo
TGRMN Software
Site Admin